Skip to content

How to Reset iPhone 13?

There may be times when you need to reset iPhone 13 settings. Most commonly used when you want to sell or trade off your phone. Also, if your iPhone is acting up and you can’t figure out why; sometimes the best solution is to start from scratch and restore it to its factory default settings. This will erase all your data, including your preferences, apps, and photos, and return the iPhone to its out-of-the-box state.

Restore iphone 13

Before you factory reset your iPhone, it’s important to backup your data first. That way you can restore it later if you need to. You can backup your data to iCloud or iTunes.

Difference between Reset iPhone and Restore iPhone

Sometimes our purpose for resetting the iPhone is different. Factory reset may not be needed. And by doing so, we end up messing things on the iPhone instead of fixing the problem. Hence it is essential to know what is your purpose and what will suit you. Let us look at the key difference between resetting and factory reset of the iPhone.

Reset iPhone

If a particular function in your iPhone is not working as expected. For example, Location & Privacy settings are all messed up, and you do not know which apps have control over your phone.

For simple issues, reset only the function you are facing issues with, like Network or Location & Privacy settings.

No data is lost. Your photos and videos are all safe.

Restore iPhone (Factory Reset)

Restore iPhone should be done when you are going for a replacement or selling off the phone. It may also be needed if your entire iPhone settings are messed up or when a simple Reset did not work.

Done if a major function is not working on your iPhone. Or when you want to sell or trade off your phone

You should take a full backup of your phone data by connecting to iTunes app on your Macbook or PC, or on iCloud.

How to Reset your iPhone settings

If the issue is with a particular function of the iPhone, like keyboard settings, Network settings, or Location & Privacy settings, then you can do them separately. This will ensure your data, pictures, videos are not lost in the process. Only the specific functionality is reset.

You can Reset when one of the settings is not working properly:
  • Network Settings
  • Keyboard Dictionary
  • Home Screen Layout
  • Location & Privacy
  • All Settings (used when one or more settings are not working properly)

This type of resetting will allow you to reset your settings on your iPhone, for example, it may help in case some setting is interfering with the flashlight. You will not lose any data, files, installed apps, or photos, so you are good.

How to reset iPhone settings
  1. Go to Settingsiphone settings on the iPhone screen and tap General.
  2. Scroll to the bottom and tap Transfer or Reset iPhone.
  3. Do not select Erase All Content and Settings. Tap on Reset
  4. You will be presented with the options you want to reset. Choose the one you need to reset.
reset iphone 13

Once you reset a setting from the above list, your iPhone might need to restart. Once restarted check if the desired setting is working properly? If not, then you may need to try Factory Reset.

How to Factory Reset iPhone 13

Let us first see what it takes to Factory Reset iPhone 13. Once you’ve backed up your data, follow these steps to factory reset iPhone 13 and other models running iOS 15:

  1. Open the Settingsiphone settings app.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Enter your passcode if prompted.
  6. Tap Erase iPhone.

Your iPhone will now restart and begin the factory reset process. Once it’s finished, you’ll need to set up your iPhone as a new device.

Pro Tip: If you are selling or trading off your iPhone then ensure you disassociate your Apple id from the device. Before reset, go to Settings and iCloud. Tap to Turn Off Find my Phone.

How to Backup and Restore your data

Backing up your iPhone is important if you ever lose your device or need to restore it. There are two ways to backup your iPhone: iCloud and iTunes. iCloud is a cloud-based storage service that wirelessly backs up your iPhone each day. iTunes is a computer application that you can use to backup your iPhone. You can also use iTunes to restore your iPhone from a backup.

To backup your iPhone using iCloud

Go to Settings > iCloud > Backup.

Make sure that iCloud Backup is turned on. Your iPhone will automatically backup to iCloud each day when it is connected to a power source and Wi-Fi. It would also depend upon the iCloud storage you have.

Apple provides 5GB of free iCloud storage. For more, you will need to purchase a storage plan. Cost may depend on your country.

To backup your iPhone using iTunes

Connect your iPhone to your computer and launch iTunes. Select your iPhone in the Devices section and click the Backup Now button.

To Restore your iPhone using iCloud

You can restore your iPhone from an iCloud or iTunes backup.

To restore from an iCloud backup, follow the iOS setup assistant prompt while setting up your new or wiped-out device. On the Set-Up screen, tap Restore from iCloud Backup.

To Restore your iPhone using iTunes

First, connect your new device to your PC or Macbook using a cable. Go to iTunes and select Device>Restore from Backup.

Summary – Reset iPhone 13

While it is easy to reset your device, it is important to understand if you need to reset it at all? Many times a complete shut down and restart would help. However, if a certain setting like Network or Security is not working properly then reset that setting instead of the complete wipe-out of the device.

Hard reset or Factory reset should be attempted when selling off your device, but make sure to take a complete backup. Do remember to turn off Find my iPhone before resetting, in case of selling or trading off.

Also Read: 10 iPhone Tips and Tricks to make your life easy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Pin It on Pinterest